T&F’s Loretta Blaut Named Jean Stephens Memorial Award Recipient

 In Football

CINCINNATILoretta Blaut, a member of the University of Cincinnati women’s track & field program and a two-time NCAA runner-up in the high jump, has been named the 2018-19 Jean Stephens Memorial Award recipient, the UC Department of Athletics announced January 15. Blaut, a fifth-year senior, was one of 10 finalists for the high honor that was announced at halftime of Tuesday’s men’s basketball game with visiting USF.

A five-time USTFCCCA All-American and four-time American Athletic Conference champion in the high jump, Blaut was selected to receive the award named for Jean Stephens, a 16-year member of the UC Department of Athletics who passed away in 1999. Stephens epitomized integrity, respect, high ethical standards and a commitment to the University. Nominated by members of the Department of Athletics, each finalist exemplify Stephens’ attributes toward: a commitment to the team, department and the University; integrity and high ethical standards in all situations; respect for and the equitable treatment of others; friendship and positive attitude of others; friendship and a positive attitude in interpersonal relationships and being a consummate team player.

One of the nominations received summed up Blaut like this:

“Her teammates love her attitude and feed off her energy. She is most often the first team member to meet teammates at the finish line with a hug or a high five. As a fifth-year senior, Loretta always makes the best of her opportunities to represent the Bearcats. She is an outstanding student-athlete who truly prides herself in continually representing the University in a ‘champion’ fashion. Recently, she stated in the UC Women’s Excellence Fund video, ‘When I dream, the University is dreaming with me.’ She is class of the league.”

In the halftime ceremony, Blaut was joined by the other finalists, which included Holyn Alf (women’s soccer), Garrett Campbell (football), Annette Echikunwoke (women’s track & field), Austin Edwards (men’s track & field), Taylor Gysin (lacrosse), Elias Helbig (men’s soccer), Anika Hitt (women’s golf), Trevon Scott (men’s basketball) and Austin Squires (men’s golf). 

This year marked the 19th year the Jean Stephens Memorial Award has been presented with Nicole Luse (women’s soccer) being named the inaugural recipient in 2000-01. Of the 22 all-time honorees (two student-athletes were honored in 2017-18, 2010-11 and 2006-07), Blaut is the 13th woman honored and the sixth member of the Bearcats track & field/cross country program to be honored, joining Karen Berling (2004-05) as the only two women from the program to be recognized.

Loretta Blaut • Women’s Track & Field


30734 31474 30610 31486
Holyn Alf
Soccer, Women’s
Loretta Blaut
Track & Field, Women’s
Garrett Campbell
Annette Echikunwoke
Track & Field, Women’s
31530 31328 30821 31012
Track & Field, Men’s
Taylor Gysin
Elias Helbig
Soccer, Men’s
Anika Hitt
Golf, Women’s
30529 30923
Tre Scott
Basketball, Men’s
Austin Squires
Golf, Men’s

• Lorretta Blaut (WT&F)
2017-18Gary Clark (MBB) & Ana Owens (WBB)
2016-17 • Lauren Bellinger (TEN)
2015-16Pedro Diaz (MSOC)
2014-15Meg Gulmi (LAX)
2013-14 • Kayla Cook (WBB)
2012-13 • Shanay Portis (WBB)
2011-12 • Oliver Book (MT&F/XC)
2010-11 • Shelly Bellman (WBB) & John Goebel (FB)
2009-10 • Siofan Cunningham (MS&D)
2008-09 • Alex Ramsey (MT&F)
2007-08 • Jenny Custer (VB)
2006-07 • Jake Richards (MT&F) & Sarah Bires (WGLF)
2005-06 • Mark Muscenti (BASE)
2004-05 • Karen Berling (WT&F/XC)
2003-04 • Christopher Smith (MT&F)
2002-03 • Laura Schnieder (ROW)
2001-02 • Tamara Douglas (WBB)
2000-01 • Nicole Luse (WSOC)